Share Mail Print

Transplantation centres

To be able to perform organ transplantations, hospitals require authorization from the Swiss Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH). Authorization is given for each transplantation programme – that is, for every transplantable organ – on an individual basis. The five university hospitals (Geneva, Lausanne, Bern, Basel and Zurich) and the cantonal hospital in St. Gallen make up the Swiss transplantation centres. Because organ transplantation is a highly complex medical procedure, not every centre receives authorization for every organ. This means that every centre specializes in the transplantation of certain types of organs (see the map below). Authorization for transplantations performed on children is granted separately.

The transplantation centres maintain direct contact with patients and know their medical histories. They decide which patient requires a transplant and can be added to the organ waiting list. The waiting list is administered centrally, independent of Swisstransplant.

Contact details for the transplantation centres

Universitätsspital Basel-Stadt
Petersgraben 4
4031 Basel
Main: +41 61 265 25 25

Inselspital Bern
Freiburgstr. 18
3010 Bern
Main: +41 31 632 21 11

HUG- Hôpital Universitaire de Genève
Rue Gabrielle-Perret-Gentil 4
1211 Genève 14
Main: +41 22 372 33 11

CHUV- Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois
Rue du Bugnon, 24
1011 Lausanne
Main: +41 21 314 11 11

Kantonsspital St. Gallen
Rorschacherstr. 95
9007 St. Gallen
Main: +41 71 494 11 11

Universitätsspital Zürich
Rämistrasse 100
8091 Zürich
Main: +41 44 255 11 11